Crafts / Holidays / Tutorials

Paper Roll Heart Wreath

Toilet Paper Roll Wreath Craft

I saw in 4CrazyKings a cute heart wreath made out of construction paper, which gave me the idea of making a paper wreath.  After doing inventory of all the materials I had handy, I decided to make a paper roll heart wreath instead.

I like the idea of using paper rolls because first this is a “green craft project” 🙂  (at least part of it) since I reused paper rolls and second this paper roll heart wreath is very sturdy.   However, in the downside, it is a little bit of a challenge to try to shape the paper rolls since they tend to return to their original shape.

In spite of that, I love this Valentine’s craft and I’m already thinking of what else I can make with paper rolls.  So there is more to come!!!

Here are the materials and step-by-step instructions to make this Paper Roll Heart Wreath.

Tools & Materials:

  • 4 paper rolls approximately (I used toilet paper rolls.  If you use paper towel rolls, you would need less than 4 rolls.)
  • Pink acrylic paint
  • Red acrylic paint
  • Fine pink glitter
  • Fine red glitter
  • Paint brush
  • Scissors
  • White glue
  • Hot glue gun and glue sticks
  • Heart grid line template

Here is how to make it:

Cutting the rings and ribbons:  I cut each paper roll in rings of ½” each.   Each paper roll made 8 rings.  In total, I got 32 rings.  Sixteen rings were for the ribbons and 13 rings for the hearts.

To make the ribbons, I cut the rings in  5″ strings.  I cut both ends of the ribbons diagonally to make the effect of fabric ribbons.

Then I used the hot glue gun to glue any loose parts of the rings or ribbons since the paper rolls tend to unroll.

Painting:  After that, I painted in pink  6 rings and all the ribbons and in red 7 rings.  I personally like to paint my paper roll  projects before applying glitter because the color is much brighter and the paint covers any spot without glitter or any imperfection they might have.

Here is what I learned after I painted all the pieces.

 Before painting the ribbons and hearts, I shaped them all to make the heart wreath.  After I painted all the ribbons and hearts, they all returned to their original shape.  

Lesson learned:

Don’t waste your time trying to shape the ribbons and hearts before painting them.   I miserably wasted about 30 minutes trying to shape the hearts and ribbons to make the perfect heart wreath just to find out that the hearts and ribbons were all circles after the paint was dry.  Wait until you paint and  apply glitter on all the pieces in order to shape them.

heart wreath (2)

Applying glitter:  After all the heart and strings were dried up, I applied white glue and sprinkled the glitter on.  I let them dry.  Then I shaped the rings into hearts and the strings into ribbons AGAIN.

Shaping the wreath:  I used the Heart grid line template to make the heart wreath shape.   The whole idea of a grid line template was another lesson learned during this project.  I discovered that it is harder than I thought to get the shape of the wreath without having pieces moving from their place before putting the last one in place.  I used the grid line template to mark the place where I wanted each piece to be on.  If one piece moved, it was easier to put it back without having the problem of figuring out where it was.

Once I had all the ribbons and hearts as I wanted on the template, I used a hot glue gun to glue all the pieces together.

If you like this Paper Roll Heart Wreath project, leave a comment below!!!  I would love to hear from you!!!

Interested on more projects?Picture11

Leave a Reply

