Food

Carrot Pineapple Marmalade in Homemade Cracker Cups

Carrot Pineapple Marmalade in Homemade Cracker Cups | grasspotato.wordpress.comAs a good Pinterester, I spend hours browsing for crafts and food in the Internet world.  Lately I have been looking, admiring, and pinning Easter projects and edible crafts.  All the cute hoppity hop bunnies and their carrots reminded me my time in 4-H.

Specifically, they reminded me a carrot pineapple marmalade I learned how to make in one of our meetings.  That marmalade was a total success.  Every time I made it, it disappear in minutes. Ritz crackers were the perfect companion for it.   Conveniently, months ago I had pinned a Homemade Ritz Cracker Recipe from Cupcake Project.  There was nothing more to look for.  I just hit the kitchen.

I used the Carrot Pineapple Marmalade recipe from Cooks.com as a base for the ingredients but adjusted the proportions and process a little bit.

Carrot Pineapple Marmalade

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup shredded carrots
  • 2 (20 oz.) cans crushed pineapple with juice
  • 2 cups sugar (The recipe found in Cooks.com calls for 4 cups of sugar but I reduced it in half.  If you like sugary marmalade, go for the 4 cups of sugar.)
  • 2 tbs. lemon juice

Steps:

1.  Mix pineapple, sugar, and lemon juice.

2.  Cook over low heat until all the sugar is dissolved.

3.  Add the carrots and cook over low heat, stirring constantly, for about 3 minutes until the carrots are slightly soft.

4.  Keep stirring and cook over medium-high heat to reduce the juice until you get a thin syrup.

5.  Remove from the heat and let it cool off.

Homemade Cracker Cups

I totally followed the Homemade Ritz Cracker Recipe from Cupcake Project to make the cracker cups.  I have to say that this recipe is much better than the brand-name crackers you buy at the stores.  I made a batch just to try the recipe and all the crackers were gone in seconds.  I made a second batch, this time to make the cups, and quickly had to hide a couple of crackers for the picture you are seeing above because the crackers did not last for too long either.  My only contribution to the process was making the cracker cups.

Carrot Pineapple Marmalade in Homemade Cracker Cups-Steps

To make the cracker cups, turn a cupcake pan upside down and put cupcake liners on.  Roll out and cut the dough using a round cookie cutter of 4″ diameter.  Place the dough on top of the cupcake liners as shown in the picture above.  Bake the cracker cups until they turn golden brown.

Serve the Carrot Pineapple Marmalade in the Homemade Cracker Cups.

Yum!!!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

